RSS

Once more into the fray (Live and Die on this day)

19 Mar

“Once more into the fray

Into the last good fight I’ll ever know…”

 

My penance piety does not suffice

As the fray takes toll upon my mortal

As the dagger slices and dices

The fort crumbles…

 

Hope and pray I be reborn

To dive into the fray one other

To face demons whose fire I stoke

That my soul for peace to have

My heart for ants to feed

Yet death hath become this life I boast

All good fights have come to this

The moment on which I stand

The weapon upon my hand

Broken sheath under my feet

 

On this day I am born

On this day I die

I must hope and pray

That one day I learn to hope and pray

 

Eyes gaze beyond the clouds

For an omen I might see

This fort mine blessing and curse.

 

Immortality it might be

The bright light that cometh my way

Into the last good night I’ll ever see.

 

“…Live and die on this day

Live and Die on this day.”

 
12 Comments

Posted by on March 19, 2012 in Uncategorized

 

12 responses to “Once more into the fray (Live and Die on this day)

  1. Frankline Jnr

    April 29, 2012 at 1:22 am

    Wow, was all of this uttered in the movie? Or you completed it yourself? Its awesome

     
    • Owaahh

      September 18, 2012 at 3:29 pm

      No it wasn’t, I just could not believe that was all there was to it so I completed it…

       
  2. Anonymous

    May 25, 2012 at 7:27 am

    Best poem, and probably the only poem i’ll ever remember.

     
  3. Heather

    May 26, 2012 at 5:34 am

    breath taking poem…

     
  4. Daniel Bresnahan

    June 23, 2012 at 10:16 am

    Most poems are just poetic, this one paints a vivid and emotional picture… amazing.

     
    • Owaahh

      July 2, 2012 at 1:00 pm

      Thanks, it was inspired by the fact that it was my birth anniversary then, or, if you like, my birthday 😀

       
  5. Anonymous

    September 19, 2012 at 4:06 pm

    Best ending a movie could possibly make.

     
  6. Anonymous

    October 3, 2012 at 11:06 pm

    This is one of THE best movies I’ve ever seen. It is so moving in so many ways. The best scene was at the end… once more into the fray!!!

     
  7. wanjikungigi

    October 26, 2012 at 1:46 am

    So I am watching The Grey then Liam goes like ‘Once more into the fray…’ then I’m thinking I have heard that before. Boom! It was Kiruga’s birthday poem! Great modification man! I finally get it 🙂

     
    • Owaahh

      October 27, 2012 at 11:26 am

      Hahaha, I loved that movie, then I spent thirsty minutes searching the web, not believing that it is not any longer than that…so I did the only thing there was to do…Took you for months huh? Hehehe

       
  8. lettiphas

    January 31, 2014 at 9:01 pm

    Reblogged this on Anything and anything and commented:
    a breathtaking poem

     

Batten down the hatches!

 
OYGK Magazine

Urban | Lifestyle | Culture | Entertainment | Kenya | Africa

Courage Stories

#youAREastory

BLACKORWA

Nerdistic Intents with Delusions of Grandeur

FardeeTravelTales

Travel,Explore &Discover

Sanna Arman

"I want people to remember me as someone whose life has been helpful to humanity" ~ (In) Thomas Sankara (I believe)

Moonchild's Temple

Abubakar Adam Ibrahim's Blog

flimsysoul

Young|Fragile|African

Potentash

With great power comes great responsibility

chanyado

Chanyado. Shade. Respite from the sun. A place under the tree to rest my head, and wiggle my toes out in the sun.

Brainstorm

Intelligent. Kenyan.

